Jicama Salad with Radish and Avocado

 

IMG_8172

It’s finally raining here in OZ and I can’t tell you how much we need it! I have all the windows open in my home and the smell of the first rain of the season is intoxicating! Lightly in the back ground Come Undone by Duran Duran is playing and as the breeze blows my curtains I can hear the distant laughter of my Baby Eden who has gone home echoing in my mind… I miss the way he smells, the way he looks at me, and the way his sweet hand felt on my cheek. I wonder if he thinks of me as much as I think of him??

Oh No EDEN don’t cry!!

IMG_4141

Oh but I can’t help it! I miss him so much. He was my little companion during my morning coffee, afternoon walks, and evening wine. Goodness EDEN! Maybe I need to add a little jalapeno to my freshly juiced kale?? That ought to snap me out of it.

Sigh…. I want to be around for my family for a long time so I have been looking at my diet to see what kind of nutritional tweaks I could do to it. I noticed I do not have a lot of fat in my diet good or bad so I need a recipe that will add that healthy fat into my diet without hurting my waistline and folks I got it! So you can get to making this yummy salad to be around your family members longer, I will tell you….

What You Will Need:

2 Avocados, cubed

2 C Jicama, shredded

1 1/2 C Radishes, sliced thinly

4 Tbsp Raw Pumpkin Seeds (No oil or salt added)

1/4 C Dried Cherries or Currants (No sugar added)

** If possible, buy your pumpkin seeds and dried cherries in bulk. It is truly much cheaper.

For The Dressing:

1 C Plain Greek Yogurt

1 Orange, juiced (I like the sumo kinds this time of year if you are really lucky Navel oranges are in season.)

1 Lime, juiced

2 Tbsp Olive Oil

pinch of Salt and Pepper

Now that you have all that you need,

Prep your Mis en Place 🙂    Remember doing this makes cooking more enjoyable and easier.

IMG_8154

In a large glass bowl, add in the sliced radishes, diced avocado, cherries, and raw pumpkin seeds.

IMG_8155

Next, peel the jicama, then using a cheese grader shred the jicama.

IMG_8163

Like this! Then add to the glass bowl with the rest of your dry ingredients.

IMG_8164

In a separate small glass bowl, add in the plain greek yogurt, and the juice from the orange.

IMG_8157

Then add in the juice from the lime.

IMG_8158

Next, add in the olive oil with a pinch of salt and pepper.

IMG_8159

Whisk well.

IMG_8161

Pour the dressing over the salad then cover with a lid and shake it, shake it, shake it! Oh shake your hips too while you are at it 🙂

IMG_8162

There you go! Wasn’t that easy? You now have a salad that is bursting with heart healthy fat and overflowing with fantastic flavor!!! Look at that fiber!

Makes 4 Servings: 290 cals, 16 G fat, 30 G carbs, 9 G pro, 6 G fiber, 4 G sugar

Cheers To Another Waistline Friendly Meal!

Kisses 🙂

IMG_7305

4 thoughts on “Jicama Salad with Radish and Avocado

  1. This creates a whole new image to the word, “salad.” Flavorful, aesthetically pleasing, nutritious, filling and simple to make. If that’s not enough reason for your readers to make this salad, maybe the glass of wine you’re holding up at the end of the post will add that final touch of motivation.
    Now, go show off that waistline so readers can see that healthy fat does NOT create unhealthy fat on the human body if consumed properly! 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Thanks for being strong.
    I would never have considered avocado and radishes together and look forward to an opportunity to test another recipe.

    I love the smell of rain and the way that it cleans away some of the dust from our surroundings and our soul.
    B

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

