Fresh Basil Pesto

IMG_5415

With the heat index hitting OZ at 110 degrees I am actually felling very relaxed and comfortable as I sit outside on the patio enjoying some good company. I think to be comfortable in 110 degree weather you need to be with good company or else lets face it, it would be pretty darn miserable outside!! Lol! 🙂 Have you ever noticed how good company can help you forget how miserably hot it is? Or have you ever had a bad meal that you didn’t realize was bad because you were having so much fun with the person you are with? To me its a good reminder to always be someone elses good company 😉

The silky voices of Ambrosia are seeping in the air as they sing You’re the Only Woman. This song would make any girl feel special! Take notes!! I’m sipping on a glass of Joel Gott Cabernet getting read to enjoy an Opus as I look out at my garden amazed at how my basil has taken off! Just like my zucchini, I have way to much. What am I going to do with it?? PESTO!!!

IMG_5870

I know pesto can be fattening buuut, it’s made with a heart healthy olive oil and in moderation, it’s sooooo good for you. That’s another reason it’s good to pay attention to your diet, so you can enjoy a serving of fresh pasta with pesto on occasion 😉 so jump in your car to hit the store and I will tell you..

What You Will Need:

2 Cups fresh Basil (Basil is so easy to grow I encourage you to grow some in a small pot)

1 Shallot, rough chop

6 Cloves Fresh Garlic, rough chop

1 Cup Raw Pine Nuts (You can use walnuts if you prefer)

1/2 Cup Olive Oil (Save 1 tsp to rub on your face, Seriously! That’s all I use for skin care and its cheaper than any lotion in the store.)

I know, get on with it EDEN

1 tsp Salt

Time to put on a song that make you feel chill and

Prep your Mis en Place Love 😉

IMG_5506

With your shallots, and garlic, do a rough chop to help out your worn out blender.

IMG_5508

Toss the shallots, garlic, basil, pine nuts, and salt into your blender.

IMG_5509

Start to blend slowly and add in the olive oil.

IMG_5510

Look at you getting so fancy making your own sauce!! I find it very satisfying 🙂

So since you normally eat waistline friendly, add in some fresh made pasta.

IMG_5868

There is a huge difference between fresh pasta and store-bought pasta. If you can I encourage you to do so.

Makes 4 Servings (without pasta)

188 cals, 20.3 G fat (HEALTHY) 1.5 G carb, .6 G fiber, 1.5 G pro, .4 G sugar

Extra: Instead of using pasta, be kinder to your tummy and use fresh zucchini noodles. Simply use a shredder to creat the noodle effect. If you go to my tip page you will see the tool I’m talking about.

EXTRA EXTRA! You will need to brush your teeth after eating this meal lol! But hey that’s healthy too! 😉

Cheers to another Waistline Friendly Meal!!

KISSES!

IMG_5869

4 thoughts on “Fresh Basil Pesto

  1. Love pesto and love (every now and then) treating myself to a meal exuding flavor and taste. Twice as nice when the company is special. I’m pretty sure that after completing a meal such as this, communication via texting with your special guests (sitting very close at hand) is highly advisable. Everyone gets to listen to the lovely background music without offending each-other with breath that can protect you from animals in the wild!! OR close communication to help motivate your guests to understand it’s time to leave. This meal offers so many choices!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

