Stuffed Zucchini

IMG_5426

I am so digging this summer! I enjoy simple evenings sitting on my back patio watching the sunset, occasionally enjoying an evening cigar with something cool to drink. I often think of recipes and how to make them better for you, for me…. U2 is on and I’m listening to Stay (Far away, So Close) as I smoke on a cigar that I haven’t tried before, It’s a My Fathers and I rather enjoy it, it fits the evening perfectly.

IMG_5431

Puff… I had a pretty good first harvest of my zucchini. My problem is what am I going to do with them? I have so many and I can only make so much bread orΒ  so many muffins I’m going to have to resort to making wigs out of them! But before I do that, I think I’m going to stuff those suckers πŸ˜‰ Yes, That is what I’m going to do, the wigs will have to wait.

IMG_5378

Look at my babies! They make me so proud! Hopefully you all are feeling as chill as me so turn up that song, sway a little bit and I will tell you…

What You Will Need:

4 Large Zucchini, scrubbed, cut in half-length wise

Home made Shallot Sauce (I have my recipe on the blog just enter it in the search area) Yes, you can use the kind in the jar if you like.

1 Pk Hot Italian Sausage SOMETIMES you just need sausage! (Turkey is a wonderful lean alternative), crumbled and cooked through

1 Cup sliced Black Olives

1 Cup Part Skim mozzarella, shredded

Lets get to stuffing these bad boys so we can stuff our tummies with them πŸ™‚

Prep your Mis en Place

IMG_5410

Pre heat your oven to 400.

Cut the zucchini and place on a cookie sheet and bake for 20 minutes.

IMG_5411

While the zucchini are baking, get to making your homemade sauce or just bring the kind in a jar to a simmer.

IMG_5414

Cook your sausage in a separate skillet until it is cooked through.

IMG_5412

Add the cooked sausage to your yummy sauce.

IMG_5417

Add some fresh basil if you are making the homemade shallot sauce.

IMG_5419

The smell has the power to transport you to a tiny village in Italy. I don’t want to open my eyes.

After the zucchini has baked for 20 minutes, take them out of the oven and scoop the seeds out with a spoon like this….

IMG_5420

Fill the middle with your sausage sauce and top with sliced black olives.

IMG_5422

Then sprinkle with mozzarella cheese and place back in the oven to bake for 5 more minutes or until the cheese has melted and bubbles.

IMG_5423

This dish is so easy to make and tastes so darn GOOD!

Serving size is 1 Whole Zucchini!

356.3 cals, 23.9 G fat, 13.5 G carb, 3.1 G fiber, 25.1 G pro, 4.1 G sugar

Extra: 1/2 of this is a great post workout snack.

Cheers to another Waistline Friendly Meal!

KISSES!!!

IMG_5551

7 thoughts on “Stuffed Zucchini

  1. I have to be honest. I tried the short cut method to your recipe. I printed the pictures and tried eating them. The bad news… it tasted terrible. The good news… it remained a waistline friendly meal.
    Seriously, this is also a great method to sneak vegetables into someone’s diet without them making the “ugly face” expression. Looks to me like another winner!! Great job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

