Summer Chicken Salad

IMG_5459

I LOVE SUMMER! I love everything about it! One of my favorite things to do in the summer is to take a picnic lunch to the lake and spend the afternoon there. Usually when I go it’s on a whim and I like to pack fast and get there, so this recipe is one of my favorites to take to the lake. Its super easy to make, it’s healthy, delicious, and it makes your simple picnic seem a bit more special compared to throwing in a couple of peanut butter sandwiches in your basket. Oh DON’T forget the wine you cannot  forget the wine! They wont let you in the park without it 😉   I kid.

Pink is singing Please Don’t Leave Me as I sip on my Hibiki and slowly puff on a Vato. It’s about 8:30 in the evening and I am sitting on my back patio smiling to myself as I enjoy some of the little pleasures in life. Now so you can enjoy some of the little pleasures in your life, I will tell you….

IMG_5527

What You Will Need:

1 Roasted Chicken, skin removed chop the meat

5 Stalks Celery, chopped

1 Small Yellow Onion, chopped

1 Small Zucchini, chopped (I love adding zucchini to this dish. It doesn’t take away from the flavor and it adds some nutritional bulk to your meal.)

2 Cups Cherries, pits removed, chopped

1/2 Cup Raw Cashews, smashed

1/4 Cup Light Mayo (Please don’t use a lot, it’s not necessary and it takes away from the beautiful flavors of the ingredients. I use just enough to create a bind.)

1 Tbsp Dried Thyme

Salt and Pepper to taste

Now that you have what you will need, turn up your music, pour yourself a yummy drink, shake it a bit and

Prep your Mis en Place 🙂 Love it!

IMG_5449

In a mixing bowl, combine the chopped onion, zucchini, and celery.

IMG_5450

Place your cashews in a ziplock bag and smash them up with a mallet. (Buy your cashews in bulk they are fresher and cheaper!!)

IMG_5451

Like this..

IMG_5452

Add the cashews to the zucchini dish.

IMG_5453

Sprinkle with thyme, salt, and pepper. Remember to add the salt in slowly and taste along the way. You can always add you cannot subtract.

IMG_5454

Mix in the roasted chicken, and fresh cherries. (Look at that beautiful yummy healthy color!!!)

IMG_5455

Cover your bowl with a lid and shake it (like you do your hips when a great jam comes on.)

IMG_5456

Fold in your Mayo and enjoy the heck out of your salad!

Makes 8 Servings:

149 cals, 6 G fat, 13 G carb, 3 G fiber, 14 G pro, 7 G sugar

Extra: When I don’t roast my own chicken, I usually buy 3 at a time and peel them all at once and freeze the meat in single serving bags. It’s a great rainy day chore to do that will make your cooking life so much easier. If I roast my own chickens I do more than one at a time as well.

Cheers to Another Waistline Friendly Meal!

KISSES!!

IMG_5529

7 thoughts on “Summer Chicken Salad

  1. This would make for a really nice picnic lunch. The lake sounds beautiful, but the mountains near where I live would add a whole different perspective. Good food, good scenery, good friends; does it get any better than this?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

