Baked Eggplant Stack

IMG_5248

“I’m not going to cry, I’m not going to cry.” Ok, I’m crying! Why oh why did I choose to listen to Lady Antebellum I Need You Now??? This song is so beautiful, it makes my heart cry. I just want to drop what I’m doing, jump in my car, and race towards my loved one. I love the part where she sings “And I wonder if I ever cross your mind??? For me it happens all the time. I’d rather hurt than feel nothing at all….” Oh man This song goes perfect with my small glass of Hibiki Japanese whiskey. So now that we are all thinking of someone we need right now, I would like to tell you about the dish that was inspired by a loved one so, here is…

What You Will Need:

1 Eggplant, sliced

1 Beefsteak Tomato, sliced

1/2 Cup Ricotta Cheese, divided

2 Cups Arugula

2 Eggs, whisked

1/2 Cup Italian Style Panko Bread Crumbs

2 Tbsp Balsamic Vinegar, divided

Salt and Pepper to taste

Got everything?? Good, now…

Prep Your Mis en Place 🙂

IMG_5238

Pre heat your oven to 425

Get out two separate bowls and in one of them add in the eggs and beat.(Go ahead and hit the eggs with a little pepper.)

The second, add in the bread crumbs.

IMG_5239

Slice your eggplant and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

IMG_5240

Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper, then begin to dip each slice of eggplant. First, in the eggs then in the bread crumbs.

IMG_5241

Place on a cookie sheet , and bake for 10 minutes.

IMG_5242

Take them out of the oven, flip and continue to bake for 10 more minutes.

IMG_5243

Slice up those red beauties.

IMG_5244

Once the eggplant is done begin to layer. Eggplant, ricotta, tomato.

IMG_5245

Continue to stack until you create a leaning tower 😉

Top off with some arugula, and a drizzle of balsamic.

Makes 2 Servings, one for you and the one you need:

220.5 cals, 3.3 g fat, 39.2 G carb, 3.2 G fiber, 7.3 G pro, 5.9 G sugar

Extra: You can always use goat cheese or mozzarella cheese instead of ricotta cheese to add more punch. Don’t forget to play the song I was telling you about as you share your meal 😉

Cheers to Another Waistline Friendly Meal!

KISSES

IMG_5281

7 thoughts on “Baked Eggplant Stack

  1. This is a dish that my friends would talk about and demand the recipe before leaving my home. I think I’ll just tell them I picked it up at McDonalds as a take out!
    Seriously, what I love about your postings is the simplicity and ease of preparation without sacrificing flavor. Well done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

