California Artichoke Hearts with Roasted Heirlooms

IMG_7760

As the weather continues to get nicer, I find myself wanting to be outside more. So my time in the kitchen is a bit limited. Dont get me wrong I love love love cooking but I also enjoy walks or runs at the nature park, rescuing turtles from the side of the road, and picnicking at the lake. So, I have been trying to come up with meal ideas that use minimal ingredients. I enjoy cooking elaborate meals, there is something about creating that perfect balance between multiple ingredients that excites me! But when the weather is nice I’m out!

The key to cooking with less ingredients is to coach out the individual flavors and marry them together. 😉

Take My breath away! Caruso sung by Andrea Bocelli is playing as I sip On My Johnny Walker Blue. It makes me either want to cry, or to daydream about driving to the lake with the top down as the warm sun touches my face….  I suppose there is a third option, I can smile and allow my emotion to come out in my food.

What You Will Need:

2 Fresh Artichokes, tops of the head cut off. (Thank you Florida for my artichokes!)

2 Lemons, sliced

1 Bunch of Fresh Asparagus, sliced into 1 inch pieces

3 Cups Fresh Baby Heirloom Tomatoes

3 Cloves of Garlic, sliced thin

4 Eggs, Poached

1 Tbsp olive oil

Salt and Pepper to taste

If  you are not to emotional from listening to this song, prep your Mis en Place 🙂

IMG_7744

In a large pot on the stove, bring water to a boil then add the artichokes, and lemon slices to the water. If you like, you can add salt to the artichokes bath. Allow them to boil for 15-20 minutes.

IMG_7747

Next pre heat your oven to 400. In a glass bowl add the tomatoes, olive oil, salt, and pepper. Mix well then place them on a baking sheet and roast for 25 minutes or until the tomatoes skin starts to peel and brown.

IMG_7745

Once the artichokes are done with their bath, peel all the outer leaves away from the heart of the artichoke.

IMG_7751

With a small knife or spoon, scrape out the “hair” then slice the heart.

IMG_7752

Once the tomatoes are done roasting you can easily peel the skin off the tomatoes off or you can leave it on.

IMG_7749

In a pan on the stove, add in the asparagus, and garlic. Cook for 5 minutes. At this time start poaching your eggs.

IMG_7750

Last but not least, add in the roasted tomatoes and sliced artichoke hearts. Sprinkle with salt and pepper continue to cook for 3 more minutes. Divide into 4 bowls and top each with a poached egg.

Makes 4 Servings:

201 cals, 8.9 G fat, 19.8 G carb, 10.8 G fiber, 11.6 G pro, 6.9 G sugar

Without the egg:

127 cals, 3.9 G fat, 19.8 G carb, 10.8 G fiber, 5.3 G pro, 6.9 G sugar.

I Die! This is sooooo delicious as well as nutritious!

Cheers to Another Waistline Friendly Meal!!!

IMG_7806

Leave a Reply

