Eden in Kansas City

IMG_7291

I can’t even begin to tell you how much I have missed you all!!! I hope you missed me too. I have had so much fantastic food this past week, and I would like to share a few of my food experiences with you. I’m listening to Do I Wanna Know by the Arctic Monkeys as I sip on a hot Cappuccino. I love this song.

The one restaurant that I will always go to when I go to Kansas City is 801 CHOPHOUSE.

IMG_7319

801 has got to be my favorite restaurant in the country. I will make the 3 hr drive up there just for one of their steaks.

IMG_7298

The atmosphere is wonderful and the only thing that beats it is their amazing service. Each booth has a wonderful view and a way of making you feel like you are the only one in the restaurant.

IMG_7297

The bar has a vast variety of bourbons and whiskeys

IMG_7300

Four Roses and Basil Hayden please!

IMG_7302

The hard part about eating at this restaurant is that I have such a hard time deciding what I should eat. It’s all soooo good! Ok, I will start with the Beef Carpaccio. It’s thin slices of prime beef tenderloin drizzled with olive oil topped with fried capers, arugula, grilled lemon, and parmesan cheese.

IMG_7309

The piece of meat I chose for dinner was a Prime Filet Mignon cooked to perfection!! It was a perfect medium rare plus 1. The preparation is usually done with just a bit of salt and pepper which is wonderful but this time I decided on another preparation. I chose the Cognac Butter with Portabella Mushroom Ragout. YUM!

IMG_7311

So what do you do when you have eaten that much food? Order dessert of course! The Grand Marnier souffle was the perfect ending to the meal. The time it takes to prepare this wonderful dessert is well worth the wait. I don’t like to waste calories on anything mediocre and I’m telling you, this dessert does not disappoint.

IMG_7313

Time for a cappuccino. Parisi Coffee house is hands down the best place ! Look how beautiful the foam is!! Now that I have had time to let my last meal settle it’s on to the next place for a culinary adventure.

IMG_7322

The Pig & Finch is a cute little gastro pub. They have a wonderful wine list and I would like to try something new but I cant help myself, whenever I see my Decoy Cabernet on the list, I order it!

IMG_7323

This restaurant has upscale food served in a very comfortable manner.

IMG_7324

I started with the Maytag Blue Cheese Potato Chips. Who ever though of combining these two ingredients together is a genius!

IMG_7325

My meal was off to a good start so I was looking forward to my entrée.

The Brown Butter Cream Gnocchi did not disappoint!

IMG_7328

These little pillows of heaven were paired with sautéed Oyster Mushrooms with Brussels Sprout Leaves, fresh Sage and Parmesan cheese. The chef did such a wonderful job balancing the ingredients in this delicate dish. What came next was exciting! The Cuban Sandwich was stellar!

IMG_7329

It was a creation of Country Ham, Roasted Pork, Pickles, Pickled Zucchini Mustard on Farm to Market Sourdough Bread paired with house made finch fries 😉

Everything was amazing! Now back to reality  for me, I can’t eat like this all the time so I better get back to cooking some waistline friendly meals!!

Cheers!

IMG_7353

Leave a Reply

