Shrimp with Fennel and Red Bell Pepper

IMG_7136

What can I say but WOW to the outstanding flavor in this dish!!! I am sooo pleased with it, and I hope you will be too! Once again this meal is full of lean protein, and tons of vegetables. I love bulking up soups with veggies, it’s such an easy way to meet your daily requirements. Oh lets not forget that summer is around the corner and I hope to have my feet on the beach feeling good in a swimsuit 😉

In the background playing is Smile Like You Mean It by The Killers. Whenever this song plays I don’t know if I should dance or toss on my running shoes and hit the nature park for a run! Oh who am I kidding? I’m already dancing!! Next to me is a glass of Grapefruit Perrier water and I have to say I really like the flavor I think I will buy some more, so lets hit the store!

What You Will Need:

1 Tbsp Cumin Seeds

1 Tbsp Dried Oregano

1/2 Tbsp Chipotle powder

1 Onion, minced

2 Fennel Bulbs, diced

1 Large Red Bell Pepper, diced

4 Carrots, chopped

3 Cloves of Garlic, minced

2 Sweet Potatoes, diced

6 C Chicken Stock (Homemade if you can)

1/2 C Heavy Cream

2 Pounds Shrimp, peeled, cut in half

1 Lime, juiced

Zest from 1 Lime

1 C Fresh Cilantro, chopped

Salt and Pepper to taste

Now that you have everything, prep your Mis en Place 🙂

IMG_7120

In a large pot on the stove set to medium high heat, add the cumin seeds and toast them. Do this for 2 minutes or until they release their wonderful aroma. I’m telling you it smells so good, I would wear it as a perfume!

IMG_7122

Next, add in the sweet potatoes, carrots, red bell pepper, onion, garlic, and fennel. Cook until the onion becomes translucent (about 5 minutes).

IMG_7124

Now add in the chicken stock.

IMG_7127

Mix well, then add in the cream, and oregano. Bring to a boil then lower to a simmer.

IMG_7130

Let the soup simmer for 30 minutes or until the sweet potato is soft.

Remove from heat and add in the shrimp and stir.

IMG_7131

Once you add the shrimp, add in the lime zest, lime juice,  chipotle powder, and cilantro.

IMG_7133

Mix well, salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_7135

Look at those beautiful colors! Good food not only LOOKS GOOD it TASTES GOOD!

Makes 8 Servings:

270.9 cals, 7.8 G fat, 26.8 G carbs, 6.1 G fiber, 23.5 G pro, 10.4 G sugar

Cheers to another waistline friendly meal!!

IMG_4418

My Favorite Place

Leave a Reply

