Sesame Seared Scallops with Broccoli Sprouts

IMG_6828

AHH scallops, hard to believe that these lovely creatures come from such a strange-looking shell! But, what a gift when you open up one of these beauties to see an iridescent shell on the inside with this little pillow sitting inside.

What You Will Need:

Fresh Sea Scallops, shucked, and washed

1 Cup Broccoli Sprouts (I love broccoli sprouts, and enjoy growing my own. They are delicious by themselves, but also add a fantastic peppery bite to your meal.)

1 Serrano Pepper, sliced thin, seeds removed

2 Tbsp Sesame oil, divided

3 Cloves Garlic, chopped

1 Plump Orange, juiced

Pinch of Salt

Oh Paris, you know I held on too much! I left you at the station I put you in my past…… That was the song I’m listening to lol I wasn’t singing… Ok I was. Pairs is blaring in the back ground sung by Magic Man and I’m singing backup 😉 Right next to me is a fragrant glass of a French white burgundy.

IMG_5891

Now that you are set up, its time to set up your Mis en Place 🙂

IMG_6822

In a small pan on the stove set to medium high heat, add in 1 Tbsp of the sesame oil , and add the garlic.

Cook the garlic until golden brown, then set aside.

IMG_6826

In a separate pan on the stove, add the remaining sesame oil and wait til the pan is hot then add the scallops.

Sprinkle them with a pinch of salt.

IMG_6827

You want the pan hot so you will create a sear on the top. Let it cook for 90 seconds on one side, then flip over to sear on the other side for 90 seconds.

At this time add the juiced orange. (Thank you my Florida Friend!)

Time to prep your plate:

Scallop, serrano pepper, garlic chips, and broccoli sprouts.

Makes 4 Servings:

164 cals, 8.1 G fat, 4.1 G carb, 1.2 G fiber, 16.2 G pro, .2 G sugar

Extra: Make sure that you bring the scallops to room temperature, and pat them dry after washing before you cook them.

Cheers to another waistline friendly meal!!!!

IMG_6773

Leave a Reply

