Lunch with EDEN

IMG_6632

I’m not saying that I invented the wheel here but, my goodness the fact that I have not had this classic sandwich in years is beyond me! So I decided to remind you of a great lunch that meets all of your nutritional needs. My daughter even commented on how she could eat this sandwich everyday lol. Sometimes you just have to go back to the classics Except put a healthier twist on it. 🙂

What You Will Need:

Baby Arugula

Heirloom Tomatoes, sliced

1 avocado, mashed

Thick Cut Bacon, cooked (Please buy your bacon from a local butcher instead of the pre packed packages. Not only is the quality 100 times better, it is also cheaper!!)

1 Egg, Poached

2 Slices of a quality Whole Grain Bread, toasted

*Directions

Prep your Mis en Place 😉 It is lunch time and once again, I had a tough workout and need a pick me up so I am sipping on a Iced Americano as I listen to I Can’t Wait by Nu Shooz. Wow this song takes me back! And yes, I am dancing in my chair as I type this out.

IMG_6627

Start out by cooking the bacon in a large pan on medium heat. Use a medium temperature because you don’t want to burn the bacon.

While the bacon is cooking, mash the avocado in a bowl and use this as your mayo.

In a small pot, bring some water to a soft boil and poach your egg, and drain the water from it.

Bing! You are done cooking, it was that easy so lets build our sandwich now.

On a piece of toasted bread, spread the mashed avocado on it.

Layer a generous amount of arugula on top. The arugula adds such a nice peppery flavor to the sandwich.

Next add as many tomatoes as you want.

IMG_6629

It’s so pretty!! And all the different colors in the vegetable are what makes your body healthy!!!

Lets add some bacon to this baby!

IMG_6633

Now top that with a poached egg.

Serving is 1 Sandwich:

328 Cals, 21.7 G fat, 21.1 G carb, 7 G fiber, 15.8 G pro, 4.2 G sugar

Extra: This also makes a great breakfast sandwich as well.

Cheers to another waistline friendly meal

IMG_5038

Leave a Reply

