Turkey Meatballs with Gruyere and Ricotta

IMG_6392

Somebody needs to run over here real quick and KISS THIS COOK!! I love an occasional bowl of spaghetti and meatballs, (I use zucchini for the noodles) but I don’t have it that often because of the high fat content in the beef and pork traditionally used. I have made them with 99% fat-free white turkey breast many times, the problem is they can be dry. I am SO THRILLED with this recipe! Not only are the meatballs moist, they are absolutely delicious!!

What You Will Need:

1 Pkg of 99% fat-free White Ground Turkey Breast

1 Pkg of white meat Turkey Sausage

3 cloves of Garlic, minced

1/2 White Onion, chopped

1/4 Cup Fresh Parsley, chopped

1/2 Cup Low Fat Ricotta Cheese

1/4 Cup Gruyere Cheese, shredded

1 Egg

2 Slices of 45 Calorie Whole Grain Bread, toasted and broken into crumbs

1 Tbsp Crushed Red Pepper Flakes

1 Tsp Salt

2 Tbsp Dried Thyme

Red sauce of your choice

Directions:

Tonight I am listening to Caruso sung by Andrea Boccelli, and I had to try really hard to not cry into the food. This song brings out  so much emotion in me. Its BEAUTIFUL and I feel calm and at peace as I cook. In a glass besides me I am sipping on a  glass of Fume’. The floral notes in the wine go so well with acidity of the tomato sauce.

Now prep your Mis en Place 🙂 Love It!

OH NO I cannot find my picture 😦 Oh well the show must go on.

IMG_6379

Pre Heat the oven to 380.

In a glass bowl combine all the ingredients together, and mix well. Once mixed, roll the turkey mixture into balls.

On the Stove, heat up a large pan and add the rolled mix. Do not worry if they are not perfectly round, they will round out as you turn them in the hot pan.

IMG_6381

Cook for 30 seconds on all sides of the meatball, or until golden brown.

IMG_6382

Once they are golden on all sides, add  the red sauce to the pan or pot if you are transferring, and place them in the oven to bake.

(I will Post a very easy, simple red sauce recipe for you soon.)

IMG_6387

Bake in the oven for 10 minutes or until cooked through.

Makes 8 Servings: 248.5 Cals, 9 G fat, 3.2 G carb, .4 G fiber, 39.7 G pro, 1 G sugar

Extra: I love these yummy bites on some toasted bread. I use the small Hawaiian rolls to keep the bread portion size down and they make a great lunch, or Hors d’ oeuvre.

IMG_6397

Cheers to another Healthy Dish!!

IMG_6441

 

Leave a Reply

