Orecchiette Pasta with Asparagus and Red Peppers

IMG_6333

I don’t eat pasta that often, but when I do I always make sure to bulk it up with a ton of veggies. That way I feel like I’m indulging by eating pasta without the guilt. Adding beans to the dish is a great way to add bulk.

What You Will Need:

2 Bunches of Asparagus, chopped

3 Red Bell Peppers, chopped

3 Lemons, juiced

Zest from 2 Lemons

3 Tbsp olive oil

2 Cups of White Beans, cooked (If using canned beans, rinse well.)

2 Cups Orecchiette Pasta (Homemade if you have the time)

1/4 Cups Parmesan Reggiano Cheese

Salt and Pepper

*Directions

Prep your Mis en Place 🙂 I still have the most fun doing the prep work, I wonder why? Anyways, Strange Overtones by David Byrne and Brian Eno is blaring from the speakers but I still think I’m singing louder than they are lol. I am sipping on a glass of airborne since I have been flying lately how boring is that.?

IMG_6325

First thing to do is get your pasta water boiling. Cook the pasta according to directions 8-9 minutes makes it al dente (I like my pasta with a bit of bite to it.).

Once the pasta is cooked, drain it and set it aside.

In a large pan on the stove set to medium high heat, heat the olive oil, salt, pepper, and lemon zest until the lemon releases its aroma.

IMG_6328

The smell of the lemon is so beautiful!! I think I’m going to rub some on my wrist.

Next, add the bell peppers, and asparagus. Cook for 8 minutes about the same time you will be cooking your pasta.

 

IMG_6329

After 8 minutes add the juice from the 3 lemons.

IMG_6327

Turn off the heat, and fold in the beans.

IMG_6330

Add the cooked pasta to the vegetable mixture, and top it off with the parmesan cheese.

Makes 8 servings: 372.8 cals, 8.3 G fat, 59.2 G carbs, 6.6 G fiber, 6.9 G pro, 4.5 G sugar.

Extra: This dish is also wonderful in the summertime served cold. Of course it is also another waistline friendly meal!

Cheers!!

 

Leave a Reply

