Smokey Cheddar with Hatch Green Chile Soup

IMG_3927

It’s raining out. The kind of rain that lets you know fall is around the corner. The kind that makes you want to curl up with a bowl of warm soup. I love the fall, and I can’t think of a better recipe than this soup to invite the fall in. In the back ground playing is At Last by Etta James and I’m slowly swaying to it as I daydream while roasting some green chilies… The smell of the chilies and cumin is very intoxicating and completely warming to the senses. I kid you not, my mouth is watering with anticipation!! I can’t wait till the first bite 🙂

So that I’m not the only one with a mouth-watering I will tell you….

What You Will Need:

4 Chicken breast, roasted then chopped (If you are vegetarian, skip this part)

10 Hatch Green Chiles, roasted, then chopped

3 Large Leeks, sliced (White and light green parts only)

2 C pinto beans, cooked (If you want you can use canned, just rinse them well)

1 Bunch Green Onions, sliced

5 C Chicken Stock (Home made if you can.) **** Use vegetable stock if you are vegetarian

2 C Milk

1 Pound Extra Sharp Cheddar, grated

5 Cloves of Garlic, minced

3 Tbsp Whole Cumin Seeds

1/2 Tbsp Chipotle powder

1 Bunch Fresh Cilantro, chopped

Salt and Pepper to taste

*Directions

My favorite part can you guess?

Set up your Mis en Place

IMG_3900

Heat your oven to 380. Rub the chicken breast with a little salt, pepper, and bake for 10 minutes. Set the chicken aside to rest for a few minutes.

In a large pot on the stove set to medium high heat, add the leeks, cumin seeds, and garlic.

Cook until the leeks become wilted. The smell of the warm cumin seeds is so beautiful!!! (I need to make a perfume oil out of them.)

IMG_3904

Add the chiles, beans, stock, and milk. Bring to a boil then lower to a simmer for 10 minutes.

Chop the chicken breast and add it to the soup along with the cheese and lower the heat to low stir well.

Season the soup with the chipotle powder, salt and pepper cook for 10 more minutes.

At the end of cooking add the fresh chopped cilantro.

Garnish with the green onions

*Makes 10 servings so this soup is great to have on hand for fast lunches.

277.2 cals, 15.2 G fat, 12 G carb, 2.6 G fiber, 21.8 G pro, 3.7 G sugar

Extras: I like to make Garlic croutons that I add to the top of the soup

KISSES! To Another Waistline Friendly Meal!

5 thoughts on “Smokey Cheddar with Hatch Green Chile Soup

    • Thank you very much!I hope that you will find many of the recipes can be made vegetarian. Please let me know any substitutions you make to the recipes so I can pass it along. I look forward to any tips you may have.
      Cheers!
      Eden

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m not a vegetarian and will savor every mouthful of high protein chicken covered in mouth watering flavor. Seems to me that Tofu might make a good substitute for chicken for those following a vegetarian style of eating.

    Like

Leave a Reply

